More Pics of the Dining Room Table (& Chairs!)

Here are a few more shots of the dining room table and the chairs.  I’m estatic with how it turned out – LOVE it!  It got broken in today with some family guests too!

Full shot...

Closer up....

Again a big thank you to Ana at Knock Off Wood!

Knock Off Wood

6 Responses to “More Pics of the Dining Room Table (& Chairs!)”


  1. 1 Becka June 14, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Thanks for letting us be among the first to eat off of your beautiful new table! We really enjoyed the delicious meal and spending time with you and Matt.

    • 2 Katy June 15, 2010 at 10:19 am

      We were so glad to have you both over! We really enjoyed the afternoon – thanks for making it such a delightful afternoon!

  2. 3 kelley June 15, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Hi! I am thinking about doing this project, too! It looks great! What kind of stain did you use and how many coats, if you don’t mind me asking? Thanks!

    • 4 Katy June 15, 2010 at 10:18 am

      Sure – I am a beginner at staining, I’ve always relied on Rustoleum Paint…but I wanted to see the wood this time. I started with a Wood Conditioner that you put on about 10-15 minutes before you put the stain on, which is supposed to help the wood absorb the stain more consistently (so it’s not as splotchy), I found that it took me over a half hour to apply the conditioner to the entire table though, as I was using a foam brush– it didn’t seem to impact the adhesion of the stain negatively however. I then used two coats of Minwax’s Bombay Mahogany in Satin (Didn’t want it to be too shiny)- which I found at Home Depot. The first coat I let dry over night (it recommends 6 hours of drying time on the can). Rubbed it with steel wool, and then applied a second coat. The stain I used was a combo of stain and poly so I didn’t have to seal it with anything else afterward. It was my first ever staining project, but I’m so happy with how it turned out! Hope that helps!

  3. 5 kelley June 19, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Thank you so much for the insight! How long did it take you to do the table? Thanks!

  4. 6 Andrea @ Simple Organized Living September 7, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Wow…looks great. I made a similar table last year and I get SO many compliments on it! I did tapered legs, but yours look great too (and were probably a bit simpler!)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,074 hits

