To do…or not to do….

Last week I made a list of things I wanted to do to the house before the end of the year.  As of Sunday we’ve officially been in our “Home Sweet Home” for Two years. I can’t believe how quickly its gone…especially considering we haven’t done a whole lot to it since, outside of floors, the bathroom and such….so I knew it was time for a list.  I love lists…they make me feel accomplished when I actually get something done.  Is there not so much satisfaction in crossing something off the list? 

Well, here’s what I came with up….

Kitchen:

*Strip Wallpaper

*Paint

* Paint/Sand Cabinets

* New Hardware

* New Counter Top

*New Quarter Round

*New Flooring

*Rug

*New Sink (I want a farmer’s sink like you would not believe….too bad they run about $150 and up, even at Ikea…)

*Spray paint my rusting fridge 😦

*Subway Tile Backsplash

*Placemat/tray for dogs

Laundry:

*Organize

*Paint Bins

*Paint Shelf

* Buy Clear Jars and Scoops

Maintenance:

*Roof needs fixed 😦

*Heater Repair

*Clean Gutters

*Strip ceiling of popcorn, paint over them

Master Bathroom:

* Strip Wallpaper

*Paint Walls

* Paint Vanity OR find something on craigslist and convert to uber awesome vanity

*New Hardware

*New Quarter Round

*New Tile

Living Room:

*Build window seat

*Clean curtains

* Make/Buy Pillows for windowseat

* Baskets for Windowseat

* Paint Living room/Dining Room

*Find awesome Potterybarn couches or set of conversation chairs (not gonna happen, but I can dream!)

Outside:

*Raised Garden

* Wildflower Bed

*Finish off space under deck into something other than a gross mud pit.

Organization:

* Clean out front closet

* Clean out Filing system

* Clean out Office Closet

* Clean out Linen Closet

* Clean out Guest Closet

* Move some things to Attic

*Create easier to use financial system

* Organize Recipes

* Paint Campbell on Bulletin Board

Dining Room:

* Find/Make Buffet

* Make dining room table

* Move some kitchen stuff to buffet.

* Paint Chandelier

And there’s more, but I want to reveal that in my second round a little later. But I know this is ambitious…but I was encouraged when I managed to put new tile in the Master Bath, put in my wildflower garden, paint the chandelier, organize my laundry “room”, painted the shelf in the laundry room, and painted the bins.  I have to finish between 1.5-2 of these a week in order to get them all done by the end of the year.  No small task but I’m definitely up to the challenge.  Some of them will require outside help….some will be easy and I will get them done on a weeknight…others will be a great weekend project.  But I’m excited to have some goals laid out so that I can actually get to where I want to be with the house!

Stay tuned for pictures of this weekends projects!

1 Response to “To do…or not to do….”


  1. 1 Kristin April 2, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Ok…I’m exhausted just looking at that list. Go forth and be productive. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,074 hits

