Decor 101: DIY Interesting Wall Art

I’ve been working on a collage of frames to fill the empty spot next to the IKEA shelves…only I’ve not come up with anything to put into the frames….until the other day.  I’ve seen many people do it (on various blogs…and decor sites) and I’ve always loved the look, so I decided it was high time to make two that were personalized for us.  I did one based on our lovely hometown, Greenville, and one for the passion of liberty that both my husband and I possess. Here’s what resulted, I think the Liberty one is definitely better, but love how these turned out:

Copyright A Starter House.

Copyright A Starter House.

Anyways, just thought I would share!

6 Responses to “Decor 101: DIY Interesting Wall Art”


  1. 1 Heather January 28, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    I love this!! What program did you use to make these? So personal and really, really cute!

  2. 2 Katy January 28, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Thank you:) I used Adobe Illustrator (I’m a graphic designer, freelancer, etsy (littleredflag)). But, if you don’t have that, you could probably create something similar in PowerPoint (I know that may sound crazy, but it gives you more freedom than Word would to set up the text). If you are looking for fun fonts, check out dafont.com. If you were to plan on selling anything you created though, you would need to check the font licenses to ensure that they don’t have any specifications for commercial use. And thank you again!

    • 3 Meg Sewell January 29, 2010 at 3:23 pm

      Hi! I found my way over from McKinney Living and am loving these! Thanks for the tip. We have very little art, which has proved to be a problem with decorating and I think this is a brilliant solution. I might just have to try this out!

      • 4 Katy January 29, 2010 at 4:26 pm

        Oh that’s great! Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you like them – if you do make some of your own I would love to see what you come up with 🙂 I made these relatively small (they are part of a “picture frame collage” on one of my walls, but I think they would be nice blown up to large poster size too to make a big impact. Thanks again for stopping in! 🙂

    • 5 Heather February 9, 2010 at 12:31 pm

      I am finally finding my way back – thank you for the tips! I love finding new fonts to play with.

  3. 6 Anna See February 2, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    These look great! What a sensational idea. I’d love to do one for my husband that highlights important places/events from our past.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,074 hits

