Decor 101: NEW Artful Repurpose of a Cabinet Door

SO back here I repurposed a cabinet door into a delightful typographical piece of art reminiscent of what you would find at Pottery Barn and Ballard designs.  And just recently took two more of the doors from that old entertainment center and made this headboard… so with the last cabinet door I made one final piece of artwork.  John & Sherry at YoungHouseLove inspired me to try printing the art and adhering it to the surface instead of painting it…and here are the results after sanding, painting, glueing, waiting, some artistic additions thanks to my favorite minwax stain, and a tad more sanding:

The lighting is making it look a tad more shiny than I would like, but I love how it turned out!

Next to the bed....notice the same colored walls throughout the house...can't wait to add color!!!

Can’t wait to show you all what new storage solutions I added to the Master bath yesterday….courtesy of a nice day outside (at last)!  Also have some other great projects coming up that I recently finished.

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

I’m linking this to DIY Day at A Soft Place to Land:

Do It Yourself Day

Enjoy all the creative projects over there! 🙂

8 Responses to “Decor 101: NEW Artful Repurpose of a Cabinet Door”


  1. 1 Cheryl January 26, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Nice job. I did happen to see the post over at YoungHouseLove. Love how yours came out.

    • 2 Katy January 26, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Thank you for your sweet words! I still need to improve on my technique, but very happy with how it turned out. I loved your post on the Subway signs – I love dramatic art like that! It really is fun and pretty unique in my opinion.

  2. 3 Heather @ Brown Brick House January 26, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    oohhh! I love that. I saw that at YHL too and I have a bunch of extra cabinet doors just sitting in the garage! What a great idea.
    I love the quote too.

    • 4 Katy January 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

      thank you so much! the quote is one of my favorites 🙂 I was excited to have the chance to reuse some things from the old entertainment center – it was a cheap piece of furniture that Matt and I purchased while looking for a house for $25 off of Craigslist…the thing was very wobbly…but it did the job for 1.5 years! And now it’s all throughout the house 🙂 Thanks for your comment, and please let me know if you end up doing something with your cabinets – I would love to see what you come up with!

  3. 5 Emily N. January 30, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    very beautiful!

    ~ Emily N. from “too Blessed to Stress”

  4. 6 feminismfighter August 17, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I can’t tell from the site you linked to how to print and transfer the letters. I’m getting ready to try one and wondered if you would PLEASE explain how you got the letters on.

    • 7 Katy August 17, 2010 at 1:30 pm

      Sure:) I actually cut around the outside of all the letters, mod-podged the paper I printed it on to the painted cabinet door, sanded down some of the edges to blend it into the cabinet door (after it had thoroughly dried), and then touched up with some paint. You might try cutting the letters out completely and then mod podging – I just did a rough cut, but it might not work well the way I did it, with every color, and I was going for a rough, old, distressed look. I got the font on dafont.com and created the original piece in illustrator I believe, so if you don’t have access to design software, you could probably do it in paint or word, but you might need to have a little more patience than the route I took? I hope that helps, if not clear enough, let me know, I’m at work on lunch so I had to make it brief!

  5. 8 feminismfighter August 17, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Thank you SO much!!!

    http://www.generationcedar.com


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,023 hits

