Home Improvement: Guest Bathroom Complete (for now at least)

So I’ve been secretly working on our guest bath.  I’ve wanted to do some things in there, and had never gotten around to it until recently.  The “renovation” was low cost and fairly easy, just a little time consuming.  When we get the money one day, I’d like to replace the toilet and build a new vanity.

First I replaced the linoleum…by that I mean I covered its nasty self.  I couldn’t stand how it looked, especially after Matt and I made the mistake of NOT covering the floor when we originally painted the bath over a year ago…so there was a fine mist of blue paint ALL over.  Rookie mistake #1-oops…  I went with peel and stick.  The reasoning was the reality that we had to keep in mind how much we spend in the house considering the neighborhood and how much we will get back.  Also…if we do tile I would want it to be when we take out the vanity and the toilet so I can do a thorough job.  Anyways…so I went with Peel and Stick, and consider it the EASIEST home-improvement project I have ever done.  It took about half a day and then voila, I was done.  I have to say that even if you don’t match the tiles up perfectly, you can remedy that to some degree, there were one or two tiles that weren’t 100% perfect, but I used caulk to fill in the hairline gaps and no one could tell the difference.  Considering I spent $25 on the project, I was thrilled with the results (even though the tile was a little bit more teal then I had expected it to look.

Secondly, since I had removed all of the quarter round to put the peel and stick down, I put new quarter round in, and it looks SO much better than it did before.  I guess 14 years of wear and tear will take it out of the quarter round…and this definitely freshened it up.

Third, I installed what I’m calling “faux” wainscoting.  I used 2″ by 1/4″ by 3.5′ pieces of wood to create the appearance of a raised panel, and then painted the entire space in the trim color to make it look like it was more expensive paneling.  However, now my laminate countertop looks blue?  So weird, but the warm undertones in the “paneling” is bringing out the blue in the countertop.  Se la vie…if we live here long enough that too will get changed.

Finally, I gave all of the trim a fresh coat of paint so that it matched the fresh new wainscoting.

Here are  some befores and afters!

Before straight on.

Bathroom One side (ignore duct tape that was holding the wood as my fallen wheel was drying....)

Another Side Shot

Don't you love that wallpaper???? yucko

Sink area...gosh, I was so excited to take pictures I forgot to remove the sponge....sigh

One final after (see the tile in this one!)

I love my nautical bathroom 🙂

Although far from perfect, this is one of the most finished rooms in the house, next only to the guest bedroom.  We had fun with this project though.  At least I did.  Eventually we will change the toilet, vanity and the light fixture out.  I have a light fixture that I might use (free from mom and dad)…but I’m having trouble getting the spray paint to stick properly (yes, I used primer, and yes I sanded….it keeps bubbling though…ugh.)  If I figure that one out or if I find a great deal on one at the Habitat Home Store…I’ll be quick to post about that.  Anyways…that’s my project, hope you enjoyed!  Have you done a renovation recently?  I’d love to see before and afters…their my favorite! 🙂

Linking to Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch (head on over there for some GREAT before and afters!)

8 Responses to “Home Improvement: Guest Bathroom Complete (for now at least)”


  1. 1 margauxhf January 18, 2010 at 11:12 am

    The before and after pictures are so drastic! I really adore the color you chose to paint your bathroom, deep colors are my absolute favorite. You contrasted the dark blue nicely with all the white. Very pretty.

    • 2 Katy January 18, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Thank you so much! I do love it so much, I was scared of the blue in the beginning, I didn’t want to make it look any smaller than it already was, but I am thrilled with the results. Thank you for your kind words!

  2. 3 margauxhf January 18, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Of course! I’m actually a bit jealous of your guts to paint a small room deep blue. I have been thinking about painting my bedroom, which is also rather small, a deep color but am afraid of the effect. You’re bathroom is kind of motivating me to just do it. Maybe I will keep two of the walls a beige to prevent it from getting too dark, similar to what you did in your bathroom.

  3. 4 Were I Jane January 19, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Found this entry through looking at similar tags here on wordpress. The bathroom redo is wonderful. I would be too afraid to go so dark in a bathroom, but it looks so smartly done. Congrats. My own bathroom redo is down the line for 2010, so right now I’m just collecting ideas and how to’s.

  4. 5 Toronto Plumbers January 19, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    That’s really impressive, where did you learn DIY?

  5. 6 Ann January 19, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I love that navy blue and white! How crisp! Well done!!

  6. 7 nannykim January 20, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Really pretty. I love the colors you have choosen. I also love the shower curtain!

    • 8 Katy January 20, 2010 at 10:42 am

      Thank you:) The shower curtain was from Bed, Bath & Beyond, I think it was called a “parachute” shower curtain? I registered for it when Matt and I got married almost 2 years ago- thanks for your kind words! :O)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,124 hits

