Decor 101: DIY Headboard….Repurpose of a Cabinet Door

So you may or may not remember the project I started eons ago…you know the little entertainment repurposing project.  Well guess what?  It’s done.  Confession, it has been done for a while – I think even before I lost my job. I know I know I should have posted it sooner.  But then I lost my job….Christmas….New Years…and now I finally get around to it.  Well, I finished it…I’ll post pictures of that later, in my opinion they aren’t as exciting as these.

When I was tearing the entertainment center apart, I almost, ALMOST threw the doors away.  For whatever reason I had a moment of inspiration.  “This is long enough to be a headboard”  Sure enough it was!  I put both doors aside, originally only intending to use one or the other, as one was thin, and the other had glass in it.

I ended up using both doors though, I sanded them and then painted them with a nice satin espresso.  I removed the glass from the one door, and attached the two doors to some 1″ x 2″ X 4′ pieces of wood.  I also picked up some foam from the local sewing store and a piece of remnant I had purchased at my FAVORITE fabric store in town, called Tony’s.  They have remnant interior fabrics that they sell for dirt cheap.  The entire piece for the head board (I had enough left over for 5 oversized patches for a quilt I made….yes, I’ve been busy….)cost only $4!  It is gorgeous fabric too…I wish my pictures would do it justice.

Anyways….my search for a headboard for under $100 is OVER! Sweet. All materials included…foam was $8, fabric $4, paint $3.50, wood was $2….I have a very custom headboard that I am in love with for under $20!!!! 🙂 Best part is the fact that I have a lot of supplies left over for another project.  So what do you think?  My parents got to test it out this weekend – I was so excited:)  The guest room is so close to being done.  so close.  Just need a few pictures to fill the frames, and then really just something to go over the bed to fill the empty space – always open to ideas:)

Have a great day and hope you had a fun weekend!

The headboard in its new home....

ignore unfinished pillows please….

The whole room shot I could get!

Linking to: Trash to Treasure at Reinvented.

and

to DIY Day at A Soft Place to Land

Do It Yourself Day

10 Responses to “Decor 101: DIY Headboard….Repurpose of a Cabinet Door”


  1. 1 fiberdoodles January 12, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Who would have thought? What a great use of a door! Great job – it is so pretty!

  2. 3 Kim@cheapchichome January 12, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    It looks fabulous. I wish you had some “in process” pics for us, too. 🙂

    • 4 Katy January 12, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      I wish I did too! I had lost my job maybe two-three days before and when the weekend finally arrived I needed some serious creative therapy…so I was in the zone and didn’t think about pictures until after the fact…I might take some close ups though and show the construction of the back and mayb explain what I did. I’m in the process of caulking and painting all the quarter round in our house so I will have to pull the bed out anyway…check back in a day or two 🙂

  3. 7 Katherine @ Grass Stains January 15, 2010 at 11:11 am

    It looks great! I’m more of a “throw it all away” person than a “save it til I need it” person, but you did a great job with what you had. Thank goodness you have “vision”!

  4. 8 Kimm at Reinvented January 17, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Oh my gosh, I love it! What a fabulous transformation. You know, with all of the angles and squares you have in the room, what about a collection of plates above the bed to add some curves? Just a thought, the room looks great! Thanks for linking up!

    • 9 Katy January 18, 2010 at 10:44 am

      What a great idea! I have been debating for sometime what to put over there now, but I do love that idea. I definitely need to add some softer angles to the room! I’ve thought of adding a pendant drum shade over the chair to create a nice little reading space, but haven’t decided yet. I’ll keep my eyes out at goodwill, the habitat store and garage sales to see if I can find that perfect piece to go over the bed! Thanks for your great suggestion:)


  1. 1 Decor 101: NEW Artful Repurpose of a Cabinet Door « A Starter House Trackback on January 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,124 hits

