Decor 101: Ikea Lack Shelves…

I mentioned a day or so ago that my Ikea shelves were up-I wasn’t blogging back when I went to Ikea last (the closest one is Charlotte, a good hour and forty five minutes away!) but I think it was June – yes 6 months later the shelves that have been sitting in my dinning room, are now finally up.  My husband kindly gave me $200 to spend at Ikea, any way I wanted.  Can I say heaven on earth?! 🙂  But during that trip the thing I wanted the most, were the white Lack shelves.  Somehow I fit them into my friend’s Nissan Altima….still don’t know how that happened, but so thankful!

Well – here’s the long awaited picture of them!

Definitely needs some rearranging - but I'm so happy they are up!

You can’t tell in this picture…but they aren’t exactly centered  (Not exactly…more like, not even close, I know!) But we wanted as many of the screws to get into studs as we could so that it would be better able to hold weight.   We plan on putting a display of frames to the right of the shelves, as my dear husband said yesterday, “It’s not like we don’t have  enough frames around the house to fill up that spot”…sadly, I think he’s right, but I still might need to snag a few more from Goodwill! (You didn’t read that honey!) 🙂  I still want to cover the books so they look a little more cohesive and I definitely need to ween a few things out so it doesn’t look cramped, but that will come with time I think.

Here are some closer details:

This is my collection of corks, I just started collecting, but I think they are so pretty – I just had to display them!

Gold tray will be painted and weathered - and the votive holders will have votives in them eventually.

This is one of my recent goodwill finds.  I heart goodwill.  I found a set of TWO. 8) Sweet. And they were only .50 a pop. Whoot Whoot! I filled one with moss balls that I had registered for when Matt & I tied the knot way back when in April 2008.  I love it!

This was one of my DIY projects where I reused a cabinet door from an old entertainment center.  Still love this piece.

Lots more to be done, but so happy with how this one turned out! 🙂

4 Responses to “Decor 101: Ikea Lack Shelves…”


  1. 1 Kristin December 17, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Awesome! Love. Your. House. 🙂

    • 2 Katy December 17, 2009 at 2:17 pm

      Thank you! 🙂 It’s starting to feel more like our home in the sense that we are finally adding more touches to it besides just the furniture! I have some spray paint projects going on as I work on my portfolio and my resume today! That gold tray is getting a make over! whoohoo:)

  2. 3 Anna See January 20, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    I am thinking of getting Lack shelves for my kitchen– doing a whole wall of them, one right about the over, with lidded baskets on them. Do they seem sturdy enough to you to hold kitchen items in baskets, such as cookbooks, canned goods, craft items? Thanks for the advice.

    • 4 Katy January 20, 2010 at 8:00 pm

      It depends if you can get them into the studs – if not their weight capacity goes down. They come with this metal piece that has bars that come out of it that you slide the shelf on to. They have the spots where you can screw the metal piece to the wall – but at least for our house, they weren’t spaced in such away that we could hit the studs more than once on each. We did buy some screws that came with drywall anchors and we specifically chose the ones that would hold more weight, but I think the Ikea instructions recommended keeping the weight around 20 lbs if you couldn’t get the screws into studs. Having said that, I have books, some paperback, some hardback and several “heavy” items on there – but I don’t think I have it overloaded by any means. If you think you can get the screws in the studs I think you would definitely be ok, otherwise you would have to keep the weight down. Hope that helps:)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,124 hits

