Sensational Finds: The Armoire Complete!!!

So after a few many coats of paint, the armoire is finished!  If you recall I found this beaut on the side of the road, probably due to the case of mold it was growing on one of its drawers.  I thought I would give killing the mold a try, and after three treatments of bleach I succeeded in destroying any hopes of a moldy return!  Here’s a reminder of what I started with: 

Horrible Picture I know....

I know the picture is grainy, but pretty much I ended up tossing the drawers, and if you notice there is no hardware, so I snagged some during one of Hobby Lobby’s half off knobs & handles sales.  Here’s the cost breakdown of my investment: 

Armoire ($0) 

Paint ($8) 

Primer($5) 

Handles ($4) 

Baskets ($12) 

Total Cost: $29 and a whole lot of painting, sanding, more painting and more sanding! 

And here’s the final result! 

Armoire finished and in it's new home!

I may go back and do some touch ups, like, add a board beneath the baskets, you can’t tell in this picture but there’s barely anything holding them up, so I think I need to go get some wood from the hardware store and give them something to really rest on!  Hope you enjoyed my Before & After transformation, I love love love LOVE this piece, so happy with how it turned out! Next project: quarter round & finishing the repurposing project! 

I’m linking this to Metamorphosis Monday, head on over to Between Naps on the Porch to see everyone’s great transformations! 

 

And to Reinvented for Trash to Treasure Tuesday: 

 

And also stop by A Soft Place to Land to check out more DIY Projects

Do It Yourself Day

Have fun browsing all the amazing projects, I’m always amazed at how creative people are! 🙂

16 Responses to “Sensational Finds: The Armoire Complete!!!”


  1. 1 gail December 7, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    awww, it’s so cute! Lots of hard work, I know… but it WAS worth it! Great job!
    gail

    • 2 Katy December 7, 2009 at 5:07 pm

      Thank you so much! 🙂 I’ve been wanting a new armoire for quite some time, so when this came along at a price you can’t resist (nor the dear husband for that matter) – it was perfect. I learned a lot through the process and am so glad I was patient with it, because now I have to look at it everytime I go to the living room just to make sure it’s really there! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your sweet words!

  2. 3 Rita December 8, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Those handles really complete the look and make it into an awesome transformation. I cannot believe just the hardware can make such a difference. Love the baskets. Stop by and see my creation this week and let me know what you think!

    • 4 Katy December 8, 2009 at 9:41 pm

      Thanks! Yes, when I saw them at hobby lobby I knew they would be perfect and I was very pleased with how they completed the transformation. Thank you for sweet comments, on my way over to your post right now! 🙂

  3. 5 Marigene December 9, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Katy, your armoire came out beautiful! Don’t you just love free stuff?

    • 6 Katy December 9, 2009 at 11:00 am

      Thank you so much! I do love free stuff! I was so excited to find it on the side of the road! It was quite the thrill! I hope to find more roadside finds in the future! Thank you for your kind comment!

  4. 7 Katherine @ Grass Stains December 9, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    You had such a vision! I’m very impressed. It turned out just wonderfully, and it looks like you paid $500 for it!

    • 8 Katy December 9, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Thank you for your sweet words! I am thrilled with the results, I’ve actually painted a lot of furniture in my house but this result is far above and beyond the others and it fits so perfectly in that corner! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. 9 heidi @ wonder woman wannabe December 9, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Looks amazing! What a great rescue!

  6. 11 jentility December 9, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Beautiful! I think we have similar tastes. 🙂

    Jen jentility.com

    • 12 Katy December 9, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      Thanks for your kind words! I checked your blog out and we both love heirloom white! I’m posting some frames later this week that are similar to the finish you did on that mirror – so cute!

  7. 13 Struggler December 28, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Just gorgeous! I don’t suppose you could come and work your magic here?

  8. 14 Kate @ Twenty-Six 2 Life January 14, 2010 at 11:12 am

    This looks so good, and at such a great price! Awesome job!

  9. 15 Kasey at Thrifty Little Blog January 14, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Thanks for linking up! The transformation that piece made is an inspiration… it looks totally different!

    • 16 Katy January 14, 2010 at 12:42 pm

      Thank you both – the people that threw it away live in our neighborhood just a few houses down, I really want to have them over and see if they recognize my treasure and their trash! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,124 hits

