Wish List: DIY or Under $10

It’s no secret around here that I love Pottery Barn, West Elm, Ballard Designs, or even Z Gallerie.   I’ve spent many hours thumbing through catalogs, earmarking pages, browsing online catalogs, or even making visits to the local Pottery Barn to pick up a swatch book, such pretty colors! My sister-in-law used to work at Pottery Barn and many of  my Christmas gifts before I even married Matt were from Pottery Barn.  Our house has hints of Pottery Barn everywhere, thanks to her kindness!    Since she no longer works there however, I’ve gone through a bit of Pottery Barn withdrawal.  But just because I can’t afford the real thing doesn’t mean I can’t afford the look.  Here’s  my first example:

Block Letter Image From Ballard Design

 I found this block letter at Ballard Design the other day, and I LOVE love love the look.  It looks so charming, I can’t help but want one.  Best thing is, these are only $8.95 at least as of yesterday!  But if you don’t want to dish out that much money, this is totally something you could DIY.  I’m actually experimenting with DIYing this as we speak (Inbetween coats on the armoire and figuring out my next step with the entertainment repurposing project).  If it turns out well, I’ll give you a tutorial on how I do it.  But this is what I’m thinking, you could take any sized board sand it, prime it, paint it, find the letter of your choice, blow it up, print it out, cut it out, trace it on the board and then paint it on to the board.  Distress it a little and add some wood stain in a few places and voila, I think you could have your own block letter for half the price- if you have materials on hand from other projects, like I do, it will be absolutely free, sweet:) 

How about you?  I’ve seen many people DIY things from Potterybarn and the like for pennies on the dollar.  Have you done any of these projects or are you eyeing anything from Ballard, PB, West Elm..etc that you would love to DIY?

0 Responses to “Wish List: DIY or Under $10”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,074 hits

