Decor 101: A Fresh Coat

I love pictures, LOVE pictures – but  I am not the biggest fan of every frame in the house being filled with photos of family, I like stories, and I want my “art” to tell a story, and family photos don’t say everything I want said. So after seeing  Young House Love do this and this, I decided to come up with something for my living room that told a story about Matt & I.

My first picture is of Charleston, an OLD map of what Charleston used to look like at least.  Matt and I LOVE Charleston and just happened to spend our honeymoon there.  It’s only 3 hours away, so we’ve been a few times since moving to Greenville. 

Old Charleston Map

Next picture is of sea shells.  I guess you might say that this ties in with the Charleston picture, but I really was just looking for some type of ink drawing and I fell in love with this one, and it just so happens we love the beach (who doesn’t???)

Seashells

This one is a silhouette of Piper and Peyton looking out the front window.  I love it when we have the windows open and they do this – its like they are transfixed…looking for anything that moves!

Piper & Peyton

Then there was this picture.  A picture of an English Bulldog.  No, its not a dog we once had, or a secret dog we’ve kept from you all, its Matt’s dream dog.  Matt has a serious thing for bulldogs, not just any bulldogs though, must be English Bulldogs. No, he’s not a Georgia Bulldog fan, although there are plenty of those down here in the south, but it was his high school mascot, and my dear hubby just happens to be a huge fan of Sir Winston Churchill (who was called the British Bulldog).  So if we ever get one, it’s name will be Winston.  Now, I’m not going to hate on them…because lets be honest, I love ALL dogs…to a fault, remember this little missy I found…yeah, we still have her, although after 3 weeks we are thinking about taking her to the Humane Society under the condition they call me if they have to put her down, but I’m going off on rabbit trails.  I’m just not as big of a fan of English Bulldogs, they are stinky (you have to clean their wrinkles!!!), and they are not the brightest of animals, and its not like you can take them for a 13 mile run like our lab Peyton. Hubs, if we ever get one, know that it is out of great love for you that I let you, and you get to clean the wrinkles.

Winston the English Bulldog

Then there were the monograms.  A “C” for Campbell, but more importantly Christ, the text for this monogram was a Bible verse, can’t remember which one off the top of my head.  A “K” for Katy, I used the words from “K, K, K, Katy” a song my grandma used to sing to me when I was little.  A “M” for Matthew (my dear hubby:) ) with the definition for the name.  And a P for Piper and Peyton – whose text is all about “P is for…”. 

The final image was not my favorite, and honestly irritates me.  I can’t think of anything else to put in there for the time being…so it will just have to do for now.

Art Deco?

And then it all came together to look like this: 

Wall Frame Collage

This is what it looked like before…and I just wasn’t a fan…

Old Collage...Not bad...but not the BEST :)

it used to be painted black as you can see, but I didn’t like how it looked, maybe too harsh?, but I think it looks MUCH better now.  This was a mish-mash of frames originally, two pottery barn ones, two from the dollar tree, some garage sales finds and some received as a gift back in college.  I’m so pleased with the result, and can’t wait to paint the dining and living room, then these will REALLY POP!

2 Responses to “Decor 101: A Fresh Coat”


  1. 1 Kasey at Thrifty Little Blog November 5, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    I love the all white look! The black looked nice too, I guess it all depends on the look you’re going for :).

  2. 2 Katy November 5, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Thank you! 🙂 In defense of the black that I slammed, I had originally intended on a warm paint color, but since I am going for a little less warm, a little lighter color in the room I thought the white might look better. And the black paint was from what my husband refers to as my “black painting stage” or more frankly “your painting that black too???” I should post pictures of all the things I painted black a year ago…haha, there’s a lot, I’m glad I’m mixing it up a little! Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Browse Our Posts by Category

Blog Stats

  • 22,124 hits

